Reminder: Starting “History’s Babel” on April 15–unless you need more time?

Just a reminder that the plan is to start up again with discussion of Robert Townsend’s, History’s Babel: Scholarship, Professionalization, and the Historical Enterprise in the United States, 1880 – 1940,  beginning on Monday April 15. That date seemed a long way away when I first posted it, but now it’s quite close. I hope everyone has had time to get the book and start reading it. Unless I hear a groundswell of comments asking for more time, I’ll plan to begin on the 15th.

Happy reading!

7 thoughts on “Reminder: Starting “History’s Babel” on April 15–unless you need more time?

  1. See the post I’m putting up today–I’ll “start” on the 15th as scheduled, but only with the introduction, and plan that most people won’t really be ready until next week.

  2. Thanks for extension, Kate… I plowed through the first 3 chapters this weekend, but the extra time is definitely appreciated.

    (Also, are you planning to focus on the “Tools and Materials” chapter for each time period, or all the chapters?)

  3. Yes, see my comment at the end of the post I just put up. I think going part by part makes sense, withe more attention to those second chapters. It seems like a pretty fast read to me. I think people can get through at least the first 75-ish pages by next week.

Leave a Reply

